Untitled

War veterans make for interesting conversation, this is what she told me.

 

 

 

Trying to take it back before it all went wrong

 

 

 

It’s been wrong for so long,

I don’t know what right feels like anymore.

I’m trying to take it back before it all went horribly wrong.

Trying to remember a time before the enemy infiltrated my kingdom,

my kingdom where nobody dies.

Trying to think of a time when the sound of shots being fired scared the shit out of me,

trying to think of a time when I could actually cry real tears and comprehend agony instead of staring into space

willing myself to forget the torture and hunger.

I try to think of a time before the multitude of scars with no “funny anecdotes” behind them

except horror didn’t mar my body.

Forrest Gump’s mamma said “life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you gonna get”…

So a revolution is brewing, it’s the magnet I needed to take it back before it all went wrong.

I demand, especially this!! I want to take back, NO!!

I want to reclaim faith in humanity because the abyss I find myself in reads as follows;

I TRUST NOBODY, NOT EVEN THE WORD TRUST…. I call it My IMPERIAL AFFLICTION…

A new conscious generation in which I find myself in demands that I not be embarrassed by my scars coz they mean I survived..

So with faltering steps, I continue to grab, snatch and steal back what the enemy took, a time before it all went wrong.

One day I’ll proclaim to the world and myself that I too know what right feels like,

I too speak the language of genuine smiles and breath love because once ,

a looooooong time ago I used to inhale chaos and pain

Leave a Reply

