Shoot your Shot

So I met a boy
And I shot him dead
Shot him dead before he could steal my crown
Shot him dead before he could claim ownership of my victory
I shot him dead before he became my joy and pain
Before he engulfs me in his flames instead of a slow burning love
I shot him dead before his treacherous fangs could bite me into submission
I shot him dead to be lonely once again
So I alone could be the executioner of my fate
I shot him dead so I could save myself
I shot him dead, or so I thought

I see a man, bullet ridden and all.

I shoot him dead but the bullets ricochet into an incredible hope
I lift a finger to caress this supernatural being
Hope bubbles from within at this surprising turn of events 

image

It took a minute ‘fore I noticed
Noticed the familiar chip in my bedroom mirror
This is no man
This was no boy!!!
This is the nightmare of self sabotage
This is self inflicted horror

I look again, at this man-woman
She survived the barrage of shots

In the end that’s all that matters

2 thoughts on “Shoot your Shot

Leave a Reply

